Watching you

Standard

As our son, Gideon, gets older I’m starting to notice a lot of little things that he does…Things that myself and my husband do on a day to day basis. Like blowing on food before eating it, hugging, or smacking his lips after eating something or licking his fingers, little things like that. And that makes me think of all the other things I do around my child, and it makes me want to be a better parent, person and set a better and more Godly example for him. 

I mean, like that one picture that goes around on Facebook every-so-often says ‘Instead of leaving a better planet for our Children, let’s leave better Children for our planet’. 

We are a small family, but hey, we got to start somewhere right? Though I must admit there are times I see some kids and I think its almost a hopeless cause, but I got to remind myself that they are only a very small handful of the world’s population and that miracles can happen. 

Everyday, I’m watching to see what else Gideon is getting from his Daddy and myself, and I just hope and pray that he turns out better then I ever was when I was younger. 

What had got me thinking about all of this in the first place was the song by Rodney Atkins, Watching you. When we went to the park earlier this evening it was playing on the radio and I never really understood it totally until now. 

 

“Watching You”

“Driving through town just my boy and me
With a happy meal in his booster seat
Knowing that he couldn’t have the toy
Till his nuggets were gone
A green traffic light turned straight to red
I hit my brakes and mumbled under my breath
His fries went a flying and his orange drink covered his lap
Well then my four year old said a four letter word
That started with “s” and I was concerned
So I said son now now where did you learn to talk like that

[Chorus one]

He said I’ve been watching you dad, ain’t that cool
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are
We got cowboy boots and camo pants
Yeah we’re just alike, hey ain’t we dad
I wanna do everything you do
So I’ve been watching you

We got back home and I went to the barn
I bowed my head and I prayed real hard
Said Lord please help me help my stupid self
Then this side of bedtime later that night
Turning on my son’s Scooby Doo nightlight
He crawled out of bed and he got down on his knees
He closed his little eyes, folded his little hands
And spoke to God like he was talking to a friend
And I said son now where’d you learn to pray like that

[Chorus two]

He said I’ve been watching you dad, ain’t that cool
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are
We like fixing things and holding mama’s hand
Yeah we’re just alike, hey ain’t we dad
I wanna do everything you do
So I’ve been watching you

[Bridge]

With tears in my eyes I wrapped him in a hug
Said my little bear is growing up
He said but when I’m big I’ll still know what to do

[Chorus three]

Cause I’ve been watching you dad, ain’t that cool
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are
By then I’ll be as strong as superman
We’ll be just alike, hey won’t we dad
When I can do everything you do
Cause I’ve been watching you”

One response »

  1. So true our children watch us and imitate us. Just follow YaHWeH’s word and guidance. You and Mr. K are doing good thus far, keep it up =) I prayed and still continue to pray for all my children, that they will see past my slip ups and know that I too am just human, but there is One who will never fail them nor forsake them, YaHshua the Messiah. Follow Him and not man and all will be so much better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

