Will you marry me?

Standard

April 8, 2011 The night when my Husband (at that time Boyfriend) asked me to marry him. Even though we had been talking about it for a little while, I had no idea what he had planned for that weekend when he came to visit.

He was from Texas and I was living in Missouri still with my parents, so we only got to see each other maybe every other week to maybe even once a month, and it was always for only the weekend.

My family and I were a part of a homeschool group that would put on Old English Contra Dances for the homeschoolers. The weekend that he was coming to visit there was going to be a Masqueraded Dance. When we had talked on the phone about him visiting, he had me thinking that was the weekend he was going to ask my Dad if we could get Married, little did I know he had already asked the last time he had come up for a visit. 🙂 Everyone knew that he was going to be purposing except me. There was even one time when I got in the car when I almost saw the ring he said, but he had was able to hand it  back to my sister to was sitting in the back seat with his brother before I saw it.

Everything was going great, or so I thought, while Mr. K on the other hand was a nervous wreck. When we got to the dance I mingled with my friends some which gave him time to try and calm his nerves in the back room a couple times. He wore his smile so well I had no clue he was so nervous. There was even a time not to long before the dance when he almost had a complete break down because he couldn’t find the ring, poor guy. He thought my sister had put it in the back seat of his car somewhere but he couldn’t find it, finally when he asked her about it she said that it was in her purse, safe and sound..though I had almost seen it again when she was getting something outta her purse when I was standing there with her.

Anyways….we were in the middle of a dance (I’d name it but I have totally no clue how to spell it), when the lady who was calling the dances and running the music pause the music and called me to the center of the circle. I had no clue what was going on, at first I thought I had done something wrong. I got these butterflies in my stomach when I was Mr. K step out from the line of people across the room  and this huge smile came to my face that I couldn’t hold back even if I had wanted to. And right there in front of everyone, my friends, my family, he got down on one knee. I was so nervous and excited, my hands were shaking and I could see his foot behind him shaking also, so I knew I wasn’t the only one.

He said that he loved me, and that he wanted to spend the rest of his life with ME. I had always wanted to hear those words come out of a man’s mouth, from one that I loved back, I was worried that if I moved or blinked it’d be a dream and be gone. But when He finally said that four word question that every woman wants to be asked, I knew it just had to be true. The ring he held was so beautiful, I never thought I’d ever have anything like it in my life, yet there it was shining up at me. In that moment after saying yes, Happiness and joy over filled from my heart, I couldn’t stop smiling or looking down at my new dazzling ring, I wanted to kiss him so bad right then, but couldn’t, so I just settled for a big hug.

That night was one of the most happiest nights of my life, and I’ll always cherish it. ❤
There's no man on this earth that I'd rather spend the rest of my life with, than my husband. I was, am and always will be honored, blessed and so happy that he asked me to marry him that night. 😀

2 responses »

  1. I asked my wife to marry be 7-times before she finally said yes. She told me that she didn’t intend to say yes until I asked her at least 7-times. It was a good thing she said yes the 7th time, because if she had said no, I wasn’t going to ask anymore. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

