DPchallenge: Leave your shoes at the door

Standard

Daily Post Weekly Challenge

Split perspectives: For the fabulous flash fiction experts, let’s see all the angles of your story. Write a couple of paragraphs from one vantage point, and then turn the tables — and walk in the shoes of another character. Tell us the same story from their view.

Her breath came in gasps, sweat started to bead at her brow; fear gripped Ziva’s heart, as her legs began to give away. How much longer could she run?  “I’m coming for you!” He yelled, she looked around trying to find somewhere to hide, he had found her where she worked at Peaceful Garden Nursery and Corn Maze, they weren’t open today so no one else was there, she was just there to water plants and organize the flowers. She was currently in the corn maze, she knew this maze like the back of her hand, and that not far to left was the Nursery building, to her left was an abandoned building and to the back and the surrounding sides of the Nursery and the abandoned building was the woods. Pulling out her phone she quickly pushed redial to whoever she had talked to last which looked like Mikey, her long time friend and crush. “Hey Ziva! what’s…” she cut him off, “Mikey help! Please he’s after me, and is trying to kill me.” she rushed in a harsh whisper, as the tears rolled down her face

Mikey’s heart seemed to have stop for a second as the words Ziva said echoed through his mind. “Wait what? Where are you and who’s he?” “I’m at work, in the corn maze, at its Jim.” He knew little of Jim, other then he was her ex-Boyfriend and that he was a nut job. Mikey ran to the door of his house grabbing his truck keys as he went by the coffee table. Anger and Fear rushed through his veins, If that man so much as hurts a hair on her body… His thoughts trailed off as he heard someone yelling in the background “I’ll kill you!” he heard making him run even quicker to his truck, he started his truck and peeled out of the driveway,  “I’m on my way right now, I’ll be there as soon as I can, just leave your phone on.”

“Ok” Ziva replied before moving the phone from her ear. Jim was her ex-boyfriend  from last year, they had dated for three years when she lived in Nevada, she broke up because he was becoming to controlling and aggressive; he had taken the break up really hard even had started to stalk her, and that’s when she moved back to her hometown in Alabama, she hadn’t really talked much about where she was from, so she hoped and prayed he wouldn’t follow. She guessed that he had found out what town she was from. Jim called out again, “I loved you, and you left me for this dump.” “No you loved controlling me!” She answered back, before running in the the opposite direction. He sounded drunk so he was also making a lot of noise making it easy for her to know where he was at. As she rounded a corner she found a Pitch Fork that was stick out of a hay bale, they sometimes put hay bales out so people can take a break. She picked up the Fork hoping that she wouldn’t have to use it but figured she’d rather be safe then sorry.  She was close to the back of the maze so she decided to head for the trees; lifting the phone to her ear again she said “I’m headed to the trees that are at the back of the maze, Mikey.” “Ok…” before he finished his sentence the phone was swatted from her hand.

Jim had peeked around a corner and saw her standing there with her back towards him. He took a second to look at her, she was still so beautiful just like when he had last seen her. Remembering the last time he had seen her face to face  which was when she had left him, brought back all that anger and hate and hurt that she had brought to him. He quietly walked up behind her as she put her phone to her ear, she was talking into it, when he reached her he slapped the phone away and into the next row. Grabbing her hair he pulled her back and around to him.

Ziva let out a scream as Jim pulled her hair to make her come close to him.  “Hello Baby, why you running from me?” he muttered in her ear, his voice dripping like poisonous honey with the smell of liquor. “Let go of me, you dog.” She bit back trying to push him away, but he just jerked her head around and wrapped his right arm around her. She felt the knife he held in his right hand begin to dig into her side.

“Now now that’s no way to talk to your boyfriend.”Jim replied, anger boiling up inside of him. He wanted to make her suffer before killing her for what she had done to him, yet another side of him wanted nothing more then the hold her him his arms and spend the rest of their lives together. “Please don’t fight me baby, I love you and I don’t want to hurt you. Can’t we just move on and you can come back and live with me? I promise I won’t hurt you, I just want you in my life.” he said moving his fingers through her hair. He always liked her hair, it was silky, long and as Golden as the Sun; and her eyes as blue as the sky and as deep as the ocean, he could stay lost in those beautiful eyes forever.

Chills went up Ziva’s spine as Jim looked into her eyes with his dark ones, for a moment she could almost see the love in them but it disappeared as something else began to fill his eyes. There was no way to really describe what she could see in his eyes, just that they seemed so empty and evil, like they thirst for something that they couldn’t have. She wanted nothing more then to spit in his face and run for her life but she wasn’t sure how much longer she could run. She just hoped Mikey would get there soon.

Mikey raced down the road using his police radio that he had in his truck he radioed back to the station. “Hey Dina this is Mikey, I’ve got a situation can you send a car to the Peaceful Garden Nursery and Corn Maze out on Hwy 18? There’s a woman being attacked by a man who may be armed.” “Sure Mikey, I’m sending one out there right now closest one is about 10 minutes away.” “Thanks, I’m about 4 minutes from there, and I won’t be waiting for back-up.” “I’ll tell them to hurry, be careful.” I’m coming Ziva, hold on.

“Jim, I’d love to go with you, but I can’t. I’ve got a job and family who are counting on me right now.” Ziva fibbed trying to stall him until Mikey got there. “My mom isn’t doing well and had to go to the hospital the other day, and with Dad gone and all my siblings over seas at the moment, I’m the only one who can take care of her. And the Jim I know wouldn’t be selfish enough to just take me from my family, would you?” she said trying to put a little sadness in her eyes. The knife that was poking into her seemed to give a little, she could feel the blood begin to drip down her side. She gave a slight sigh. Then something changed in his eyes, and he jammed the knife deep into her side, sharp pain shot through her body as he held the knife tight against her side.

Blood began to flow from her body and over his hand, it felt warm and yet cool at that same time. Twisting his fingers once again through her hair he pulled her in, “this Jim is different!” he hissed before placing his lips on her.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Laptop Fever [FLASH FICTION] | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: There’s a Snake in My Couch Part I : A Mom’s Point of View | mariestephensgardening

Leave a Reply

