Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter

Standard

Tell us about a time when you flew into a rage. What is it that made you so incredibly angry?” 

 

I try not to get angry or full of rage, usually when I feel anything like that coming on I try to back off from whatever it is that’s making me feel like that and try a calmer approach. But there are two times that come to mind when I really wanted to hurt someone, one was when I was probably about 15 years old, and our cousin was living with us. He was/is the same age as me, just a couple months younger. One day, my mom wanted the boys to have hair cuts, and I had the task of cutting my cousin’s. For some reason I don’t remember why, he started to bad mouth my mom behind her back after she left the room. I, of course, tried to stick up for her and told him I didn’t want him saying anything bad about my mom. Somethings were said and he ended up getting off his seat before I could really even start to cut his hair, and was about to walk off when I put my arm out to try and stop him. I honestly don’t remember very well what happened next, I just know that he pushed me a little to get me back or something and with a rage that seemed to fill my body (and make my arms feel like jello) I in return gave him a right hook to the jaw. He was so mad, he started to yell at me and I yelled back, at this time is when my family (mom and siblings) finally entered the room to see what was going on.  In the end we gave each other a little space to think things over, exchanged apologizes and forgave one another.

Though you know, it didn’t stop us from getting into another fight not too long after that. But this time, he got me mad because he was dissing my youngest brother (I think he had been doing it for most of that day and I had just had enough). This time though we were outside and my mom and two of my siblings weren’t home (dad was away at work by the way for both of these). Once again I punch him, and we both ended up on the ground. That’s when mom got home, she said that from a distance it looked like we were just having fun and wrestling but when they got closer and pretty much parked that’s when they know we were actually fighting.

To this day I still have no clue how bad or good my punches were/are. At first he said they didn’t hurt but later said that he just said that to make himself look tough and that they actually did hurt a bit, so I don’t know.

 

There’s only one other time that I felt like hitting someone all the way to the moon and back, I was 16 I think. I won’t go into detail, but lets just say, that in the end instead of punching him, I was writing a story at that time and put a character in there based off this person and I killed him (in the story) a slow and kinda painful death. I felt a little better afterwards, though I was still hurt and sad by what they had done.

Sadly, that’s how I vent out my feelings most of the time, is if I’m working on a story, I’ll choose a character and vent the feeling out on them, sometimes its good and sometimes its bad just depends what I’m feeling. I think its way better then taking it out on someone around you.